HuntingNut
HuntingNut
   Login or Register
HomeCommunity ForumsPhoto AlbumsRegister
     
 

User Info

Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: longrangesniper
New Today: 1
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 12406

People Online:
Members: 1
Visitors: 119
BOT: 4
Total: 124
Who Is Where:
 Members:
01: SingleShotLover > Forums
 Visitors:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Forums
04: Forums
05: Forums
06: Forums
07: Forums
08: Forums
09: Forums
10: Forums
11: Forums
12: Forums
13: Photo Albums
14: Forums
15: Forums
16: Forums
17: Forums
18: Forums
19: Forums
20: Forums
21: Photo Albums
22: Photo Albums
23: Forums
24: Forums
25: Forums
26: Forums
27: Forums
28: Forums
29: Forums
30: Photo Albums
31: Forums
32: Forums
33: Photo Albums
34: Photo Albums
35: Forums
36: Forums
37: Forums
38: Forums
39: Forums
40: Forums
41: Photo Albums
42: Photo Albums
43: Forums
44: Forums
45: Forums
46: Photo Albums
47: Forums
48: Forums
49: Forums
50: Photo Albums
51: Forums
52: Forums
53: Home
54: Forums
55: Forums
56: Photo Albums
57: Forums
58: Photo Albums
59: Forums
60: Your Account
61: Your Account
62: Forums
63: Your Account
64: Photo Albums
65: Forums
66: Forums
67: Photo Albums
68: Forums
69: News
70: Your Account
71: Forums
72: Forums
73: Forums
74: Forums
75: Forums
76: Forums
77: Forums
78: Forums
79: Photo Albums
80: Forums
81: Forums
82: Forums
83: Forums
84: Forums
85: Forums
86: Photo Albums
87: Home
88: Forums
89: Photo Albums
90: Forums
91: Forums
92: Forums
93: Forums
94: Photo Albums
95: Forums
96: Forums
97: Forums
98: Forums
99: Forums
100: Forums
101: Forums
102: Forums
103: Forums
104: Photo Albums
105: Your Account
106: Forums
107: Home
108: Forums
109: Forums
110: Your Account
111: Forums
112: Photo Albums
113: Forums
114: Forums
115: Forums
116: Forums
117: Forums
118: Forums
119: Home
  BOT:
01: Forums
02: Forums
03: Your Account
04: Forums

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!
 

Coppermine Stats
Photo Albums
 Albums: 313
 Pictures: 2423
  · Views: 268514
  · Votes: 1310
  · Comments: 86
 

Support our Advertisers

M1A reloads
Discussion regarding the reloading of ammunition and tuning of loads for accuracy
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rich916
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Feb 10, 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:31 pm    Post subject: M1A reloads Reply with quote

I need help. My reloads are not cycling smoothly. About every third shot theyre either not extracting from the chamber or are not fully seating against bolt. I am not having this problem with store bought ammo. My loads are once fire lake city brass, hornady 150 grn fmj's, 42.4 grns IMR 8208 XBR, and remington 9.5 large rifle primers. 150 grn Hornady fmj's are loaded per HOrnady manual data, not the service rife data, I couldt find the exact 150 grn data in the service rifle section. Guns up bro's, semper fi.

Ive only been reloading for 9 months so any constructive criticism is greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
dhc4ever
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 26, 2011
Posts: 2223
Location: Ipswich, Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:07 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Are you full length resizing?
Which dies are you using?

_________________
Pete

Dont do anything you wont like explaining to the paramedics..............
Back to top
View user's profile
Rich916
Rookie Member
Rookie Member


Joined: Feb 10, 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:08 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Yes, full length resizing. using RCBS .308 winchester dies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
dhc4ever
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 26, 2011
Posts: 2223
Location: Ipswich, Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:01 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Being gas operated the M1a requires a certain level of gas to operate.
From your description this is your problem.

The adi powder site (who make the IMR 8208 XBR) lists th following;
150 Bench Mark 8208 24" 40.0 2605 45500 psi 44.5 C 2870 60800 psi

www.adi-powders.com.au...87.62mm%29

I would try a bit more powder staying within the listed maximum which is a compressed load in this case and see how things go.

You could also try a slower powder like AR 2208 (varget) and see what results you get there.

Also go back over your die settings and confirm all is well there.
RCBS also make a small base die specifically for semi autos, perhaps look at these if you have no joy with powder variations.

Are you using a powder thrower or throwing each load by hand and weighting each one?

No doubt others who get the pleasure of playing with semi autos will chime in shortly.

Another forum to pose the question on is;
www.ammosmith.com/forum/

Good luck with it.

Edit;
Just to confirm my remote diagnosis take a factory round and one of your reloads and compare the difference in recoil, and how the rifle cycles between the 2. If the factory round has more recoil you'll need to load yours to a similar level. More research and trial and error= more range time so its not all bad Smile

_________________
Pete

Dont do anything you wont like explaining to the paramedics..............
Back to top
View user's profile
slimjim
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 16, 2009
Posts: 6903
Location: Fort Worth TX

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:40 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

I'd make sure you are setting the shoulder back enough before I'd switch to a small base die. I had to buy a Hornady case gauge to measure that I had set the shoulder back enough. Easy to do on a bolt gun without one but not a semiautomatic. I also would not use 8208 in a semi.

_________________
"To anger a conservative, lie to him. To anger a liberal, tell him the truth." - Theodore Roosevelt

"The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it." - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile
slimjim
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 16, 2009
Posts: 6903
Location: Fort Worth TX

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:41 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Also, don't crimp.

_________________
"To anger a conservative, lie to him. To anger a liberal, tell him the truth." - Theodore Roosevelt

"The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it." - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile
slimjim
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 16, 2009
Posts: 6903
Location: Fort Worth TX

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:27 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Also, don't crimp.

_________________
"To anger a conservative, lie to him. To anger a liberal, tell him the truth." - Theodore Roosevelt

"The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it." - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5667
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:06 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Yup, Slimjim has the stutters again. Very Happy

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
gelandangan
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 07, 2006
Posts: 5667
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:24 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Okay I see two distinct problems, and due to the fact that I never have a M1, I cannot answer for specific rifle.
OTOH, these are common problems for most semiauto systems.

1. spent brass not extracting.
this can be due to many things, from low charge (pressure) to activate the extraction mechanism, to weak extractor claw, to damaged ejector pins, to dirty gas op lines, wrong location of gas lines, sticky chambers etc.
Speed of powder burns also would made difference in extraction.

If your extraction problem is due to the chamber/brass interaction problem, you would have some extractor claw marks on the lip of the brass.

if it is due to gas op system, them most likely you would have slight bulge on the wall of the brass.

Not seeing the brass, its difficult to pinpoint the problem.

2. Cartridge not fully seated.
This usually due to the error in sizing or weak main spring.
OTOH, if factory load are seated good, then the spring is not your problem.
Do you mike the neck of the reloaded cartridge? is the size the same as factory ammo?
What size projectile you use? does it bulge the brass?
Mind you often in a tight chamber even 0.001 inch would made difference.



Oh yeh.. welcome to the site Smile

_________________
A straight line is the shortest distance between two points.
A smile is the shortest distance between two people.

The government I trust .. is my .45-70 Government.

Do - Not try!


gelandangan.weebly.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Grumulkin
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Apr 16, 2007
Posts: 365
Location: Central Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:35 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

1. As mentioned above, I also think your load is probably a bit too low though I don't have a Hornady manual in front of me.

2. I would recommend mil spec primers. Though it doesn't happen often, using regular primers in the M1A could cause a slam fire.

3. A small base die probably isn't necessary but if the chamber of your gun is tighter than is usual it could be.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
RePete
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Aug 15, 2005
Posts: 755

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:04 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

You might want to think about using a small base die from RCBS. That's all I use now and that's for bolt action rifles.

_________________
Proud member of the WTFDTSG Club.

Stercus Accidit = Sh*t Happens in Latin.

Nice try = You Suck spelled different.

Back to top
View user's profile
Pumpkinslinger
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Sep 22, 2007
Posts: 4361
Location: NC foothills

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:46 pm    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Hodgdon does recommend that powder for 7.62 NATO loads. Powder charges from 40 to 45 grains DEPENDING ON THE BULLET USED.

_________________
Mike

"I ain't no better than anyone else, and there ain't no one better than me!" Ma Kettle

Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Photo Gallery
Aloysius
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 2011
Location: B., Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:28 am    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Am I allowed to tranlate "M1A" into "FAL" ?
Mine is just a short-barreled para-FAL, but I also think your load is on the soft side. In my opinion the burning rate of the powder is fine and 146 to 165 grs bullets are splendid. Using slow powders brings the pressure peak later in the barrel and then it's very difficult to adjust the gass-valve.
So: or you increase the amount of powder or you open the gass-valve a few points untill it works OK. Don't forget to readjust that valve when you use factories again!

EDIT: I just Googled M1A and they showed me what we call the .30 M1, but that's in .30 Carbine and not .308 Win and it's no gass-operated thing... so I'm a little confused here.
Back to top
View user's profile
Vince
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: May 25, 2005
Posts: 12902
Location: Brisbane AUSTRALIA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:19 am    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Aloysius wrote:
Am I allowed to tranlate "M1A" into "FAL" ?
Mine is just a short-barreled para-FAL, but I also think your load is on the soft side. In my opinion the burning rate of the powder is fine and 146 to 165 grs bullets are splendid. Using slow powders brings the pressure peak later in the barrel and then it's very difficult to adjust the gass-valve.
So: or you increase the amount of powder or you open the gass-valve a few points untill it works OK. Don't forget to readjust that valve when you use factories again!

EDIT: I just Googled M1A and they showed me what we call the .30 M1, but that's in .30 Carbine and not .308 Win and it's no gass-operated thing... so I'm a little confused here.

M1A

M1A

_________________
Cheers, Vince Cheers

Illegitimi non carborundum
(Never let the bastards grind you down)

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.

"Nulla Si Fa Senza Volonta."
(Without Commitment, Nothing Gets Done)

Back to top
View user's profile AIM Address MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger
Aloysius
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: Nov 03, 2009
Posts: 2011
Location: B., Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:02 am    Post subject: Re: M1A reloads Reply with quote

Thanks. That's close to our SA FN.
When it's gass-operated like the SA FN (in 30-06) or the FAL (in .308 Win), then my remarks are still valuable. Or is your gass-valve not adjustable?
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index » Reloading Ammunition
Page 1 of 4
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Advertisements
 


Valid CSS! Valid HTML 4.01!
Click to check if this page is realy HTML 4.01 compliant for speed :)

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of HuntingNut.com.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2011 by HuntingNut.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy

.: Upgraded to DragonFly 9.2 by Dizfunkshunal :.