Handloading Myths Exposed
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  :| |:
-> Reloading Ammunition

#1: Handloading Myths Exposed Author: HandloaderLocation: Phoenix, Arizona PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 10:57 am
    ----
Several contributors to this website have extensive handloading experience. Along with that experience comes The Truth about somethings and the debunking of "myths" about other things. For example, in a current thread about tumblers for cleaning brass, the "myths" of the necessity of primer pocket cleaning and the most accurate powders have been mentioned.

What other "myths" have you found to be unsubstantiated?

#2: Re: Handloading Myths Exposed Author: BushmasterLocation: Ava, Missouri PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 11:20 am
    ----
Go ahead Handloader...Lead out. One persons "myth" is another persons "belief"... I have been handloading for 20 years or so and have dispelled several "myths" and invented some, too. If the "myth" is not detrimental to that handloader. No foul. If it is, then it should definately be dispelled in public. Otherwise.............................

I like the one that states that some powders are exactly alike (the same). But are listed in load manuals on seperate lines and different charge weights and have different burn rates on the burn charts. Definately one of my favorites. Very Happy

And what's wrong with cleaning out primer pockets??? Confused

#3: Re: Handloading Myths Exposed Author: squirrelbaitLocation: Nottingham, NH PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:00 pm
    ----
Hmmmmm....myths, primer pockets. Seems like "myth" is a strong word.
I subscribe to KISS and "what ever works best for me"...........until someone tells me what I am doing IS detrimental to my health. wtf
But I am open for new ideas.

#4: Re: Handloading Myths Exposed Author: BushmasterLocation: Ava, Missouri PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 12:04 pm
    ----